Ground Control To Major Tom

Don't be insulted on my behalf -- I bought her that shirt

Ben Zoma says:
Who is rich?
The one who is appreciates what he has…

(Talmud—Avot 4:1)

Appearances and actions can be misleading.  My sweet Tinky has drifted though life as if on a cloud with a silver lining.  Nothing phases that child (shouldn’t say child, she just turned 21).  She takes everything at face value, not because she can’t see beyond any facade, it’s just because she’s a happy kid (yes, I know, 21 is not a kid).  There is no pinch of salt in her life. For those of you who don’t know her, watching her go through life with a constant smile on her face, no worries to furrow her brow, it can be disconcerting.  She gives off a certain space cadet demeanor, or, as we say in Israel, you might take her to be an astronaut.

According to urbandictionary.com:

space cadet:  n. A person who tends to space out often. He or she does not respond when directly spoken to. The space cadet is not necessarily a person of low intelligence or a heavy drug user, but rather one who is so easily lost in reverie that he or she loses all awareness of the surrounding physical world.

Reverie.  Yes, my Tinky is lost in reverie.  But that’s as far as it goes. Yes, sometimes we have to pull her down to Earth, but that kid is sharp. She knows what she wants, and she knows how to get it.  Not the most stellar of students (learning disabilities and our family’s own Annus Horribilis may have derailed her), she drifted along on that cloud for a bit, but now she’s on the right track.  Her mission in life?  To make the world more beautiful, one person at a time. She’s got a great sense of humor (I like to think she inherited that from me).  She laughs loudly and loves fiercely.  And just like that astronaut she may seem to be, she’s gravity proof — she can bounce back from anything, with a smile.

Tink is a fan of the simple things in life.  She lives and studies in Jerusalem, and when she comes to visit us for Shabbat (when the boyfriend isn’t home from the army, and her huge circle of friends isn’t getting together, or she just wants her mommy to spoil her) she has a few requests for the menu…

“Mom, when I come, can you make sure we have Ju-Boy’s roast potatoes?  And make sure he makes a lot of dafdafet (Hebrew for loose pages, what she calls leek).  And some of his steamed broccoli… and don’t forget to tell him to make some cabbage the way I like it.”  Wait a minute, I see a pattern here.  Isn’t there anything I make that she likes?  And then she says the magic words, “Mom, can you make me your fudge?”

My recipe for fudge?  It’s so simple, so easy, I’m almost embarrassed to give it to you.  Almost…

Incredibly Simple Fudge

  • 1 can (400 ml or 14 fluid oz) sweetened condensed milk
  • 300 grams (12 oz) dark chocolate
  • 1 dash vanilla extract

  1. Break the chocolate into pieces  (Israeli chocolate is conveniently marked in little squares) and place in a microsafe bowl.  Add the sweetened condensed milk.  There is no need to stir.
  2. Nuke in the microwave for 3 minutes.  If you are micro-wary, you can do this in the top of a double boiler, constantly stirring until smooth.
  3. Add the vanilla and stir until smoothly combined.
  4. Spray an 8″ x 8″ pan (20 cm X 20 cm) with vegetable oil or line with parchment paper (I use parchment paper).  Pour in the fudge while it’s still warm and pour-able.  Tip the pan to make sure the fudge gets into all the corners evenly.
  5. Chill in the refrigerator for about two hours, or even overnight, if you have the willpower.  I have seen kids (and adults) watch the fudge set like some people watch paint dry.
  6. Cut into squares, serve the masses, and smile as the compliments come your way.

Don't forget to lick the bowl!

Sometimes it’s so simple to be so happy.

About Miriyummy

All I want to do is live happily ever after.

Posted on 25 July 2010, in Chocolate, Family Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. “I have seen kids (and adults) watch the fudge set like some people watch paint dry.”

    I liked so many sentences in this post… but I chose to quote this one, because (unlike the sensitive sentences about Tink), it didn’t make me cry.

    You sound like a very cool mommy, who knows and loves her kids as individuals. I sense a kindred spirit — except I don’t have the recipes! 😉

    Where the heck do you find sweetened condensed milk in this country???

    Like

  2. Yeah, that was my question, too. Where?

    Like

  3. You can get sweetened condensed milk in almost any supermarket. In Hebrew it’s called חלב מרוכז ממותק. You can find it in the coffee aisle near the creamers and the cocoa. It comes in a short, squat can, although they also sell it in tubes, like toothpaste. With both Ruti and Toby in the same area, I’m sure the super in Efrat has it.

    Like

  4. aww mirj! love this, but there’s no surprise there! your girl sounds like a love — a happy free spirit, reminds me a tad of my chloe. and fudge! hooray for sweet simple fudge! and last, but not least, i adore the photos!!

    Like

  5. Yum! Forget bananas. As far as I’m concerned, fudge is definitely the world’s most perfect food… 🙂

    Thanks for sharing both the recipe and the Hebrew name for sweetened condensed milk.

    Like

  6. What a great post! I’m glad you changed the comment box, since I can’t remember my password 🙂

    I’m going to have to try this some time… it sounds too good to be true. I’ve seen that condensed milk – it’s called “Alaska” or something, no?

    Like

    • The can I have is by Willy Food (or Willi Food?) and just says sweetened condensed milk, no name.

      Please do try it, it’s not too good to be true, although it is processed crap. But it’s yummy processed crap.

      Like

      • I believe there is a Chazal that says something like “A secret to immortality is about knowing when to have a small portion of ‘processed crap,’ and when to avoid it.”

        Like

Tell me what you think