Some Soup and Some Socks (Zhuzz One, Knit Two)

I just wanted to show off Ju-Boy's grandson Brave-Boy and his winter ensemble that I knit for him. He's already outgrown it. I guess I'll just have to pick up the sticks and knit a larger size.

Winter is here for most of us.  One of the most warming and comforting things for me to have in the winter is a nice, hot bowl of soup.

There are many ways to make soup.  One way NOT to make it is…

Canned soup is very rare in Israel, so there’s not much of a chance of this happening in the Miriyummy household.  In any case, we’re trying to eat as little processed food as possible.  If you don’t mind a little peeling and a quick zhuzz, try this winter warmer:

Carrot Soup with Ginger and Lemon

I have made this both in the dairy and the parve version.  For the dairy version use butter and garnish with sour cream.  For the parve version use olive oil and garnish with either just grated carrot alone or add some coriander leaves.  Whatever you do, please, please, please do NOT use non-dairy sour cream, that’s not going to win you any points with this recipe.  If you don’t use the sour cream or the butter the soup is not only vegetarian, it’s vegan as well.

Photo by day-hee on Food.com

  • 2 tablespoons (1 chlop) butter (or olive oil)
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped onions
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped, peeled fresh ginger (I use a Microplane for this, you don’t even need to peel the ginger)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1 1/4 lbs medium carrots , peeled and chopped (about 3 cups) (I don’t even peel them anymore, just scrub them really well under the faucet)
  • 2 tomatoes, coarsely chopped (about 1 1/3 cups)
  • 1 lemon, grate the rind (use the Microplane) and squeeze the juice (reserve the juice)
  • 3 cups vegetable stock
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 4 tablespoons sour cream (optional)
  • 1 small carrot, peeled (or scrubbed) and grated

juliapvalentine.blogspot.com

Melt butter in heavy large pot over medium-high heat (or use the olive oil).
Add the onion and sauté 4 minutes until transparent.
Add the ginger and garlic, sauté another 2 minutes.  Stir often, don’t let the garlic burn.
Add the chopped carrots, tomatoes and lemon rind.  Saute one minute more.
Add the 3 cups of stock and bring to a boil.
Reduce heat, cover partially and simmer until carrots are very tender, about 20 minutes.
Cool slightly.
Stick your zhuzzer in there and puree the soup.  If you don’t have a zhuzzer, puree soup in batches in blender (and then return the soup to the pot).
Mix in the lemon juice.
Season with salt and pepper.
Bring the soup to a simmer, thinning with more stock, if desired.
Ladle into bowls.
Top each with sour cream and grated carrot (or coriander).

Socks for Sassy

Cozy House Socks for Ju-Boy

Socks!  I made socks!
Incidentally, those of you snow-bound there in the diaspora may laugh at our Israeli winters, but it does get cold here.  I knit my first pair of sock about two weeks ago, for the knitworthy Sassy.  I was so proud of myself, I knit up another pair for Ju-Boy.  A pair of warm socks and a bowl of warm soup, winter should be over in no time! The pattern can be found in One-Skein Wonders by Judith Durant.  The pattern itself is called Cozy House Socks, by Sue Dial.

About Miriyummy

All I want to do is live happily ever after.

Posted on 15 January 2012, in Knitting and Crocheting, Photos, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Oh, that soup looks heavenly, I will totally try your recipe. I don’t know how to knit, though – can I please have a pair of socks?
    🙂

    Like

  2. After quite a few years, I’ve started knitting again… love those socks and will check out the pattern!

    Definitely “soup time” here on the East Coast of the US…. woke up to 22 degrees this morning. Soup will be happening today….

    Like

  3. How do you do it all!

    Like

  4. Adorable baby, great knitted outfit and socks and the soup looks fantastic!

    Like

  5. Irmgard Upmanis

    The soup looks delicious and so does your grandson! What a sweetie!

    Like

  6. Love the beautiful baby and his outfit and appreciate your knitting. Believe it or not I am currently doing a Peerie toddler sweater (different patterns of knit and purl that vary every inch or so for an imaginary grandchild! I have made things for various relatives and now hoping my ‘boys’ (20 and 22) will one day have kids…..crazy! The soup also looks good, i try to make a different one every week – helps to keep you warm and fills you up a bit with the meal (I am a lifetime Weight Watcher). Be well,
    Sharon

    Like

  1. Pingback: Hosting the Kosher Cooking Carnival - This American Bite

Tell me what you think