It Pays To Blog (and Tweet)

The blogosphere is full of contests.  I’ve even held one or two here on Miriyummy.  One of my favorite bloggers and longtime reads, A Mother in Israel, posted a contest where you could win a tallit.  Now, granted, I don’t actually use one myself, but I was tempted.  The company offering the prize, Galilee Silks, had some gorgeous tallitot for women.

It was a simple contest, really, just either blog about the contest on your own blog, or tweet about it.  I did both.  It seems I was the only entrant to do so (blog AND tweet), and guess what?  I won!

In spite of the fact that there were some really cool blue and pink and red tallitot for women on offer, I gave my prize to Ju-Boy.  The man can be pretty outrageous at times, but his taste in tallitot is really boring sedate.  It seems my man does not want to be a peacock in shul.

The prize arrived just in time for Chanuka.  I’ve wanted to get a picture of him wearing the tallit for a while, but he’s made this his Shabbat tallit, and the camera doesn’t come out on Shabbat in the Miriyummy household.  This past Saturday night he took it out to give it to Optimus Prime, who’s going to be adding the tekhelet, so I got my supermodel husband to don the tallit for everyone to see.

Galilee Silks has some seriously gorgeous tallitot and other prayer accessories for sale.  They seem to cater to the international market (prices are quoted in dollars), but it’s worth stopping by just to look and admire their work.

 

 

About Miriyummy

All I want to do is live happily ever after.

Posted on 10 January 2011, in Contests and Cookbook Reviews, Israel, Shabbat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Wow… that is a handsome man and a handsome tallit. Loved the video on the Galilee Silks site…

    Like

  2. Nice! Congratulations!

    Like

  1. Pingback: Links: Bus Segregation, Divorce, Autism, Harsh Parenting | A Mother in Israel

Tell me what you think