Roughing It

A five star tent -- one common room, two bedrooms, but no kitchen!

This post was written on Thursday evening, 12 August, scribbled in the dusk…

I really have had an underpriviledged childhood.  Tonight will be the first night ever that I will sleep in a tent. Shy-Boy cannot believe that I have lived to the ripe old age of mumble mumble without ever having experienced the sublime nirvana that is tent dwelling.

You see, yonks ago when I went camping, we didn’t have tents.  We slumbered in sleeping bags under the trees, in the rain, on desert sands, by the seashore, always under the open sky.  We didn’t have a need for tents, we were roughing it.  We cooked over open fires, letting the chicken pieces fall into the mud, the ash, the dirt, and using the Three Second Rule, just tossing the food back on the fire.  It was delicious!

Ju-Boy and Shy-Boy go camping each summer, leaving me behind in the blissful air-conditioning, watching reruns of House or Doctor Who in wonderful solitude.  Tonight I have joined them, because, I have been told, I cannot go through life without roughing it at least once in a tent.

The boys work hard while Miriyummy documents the process

You should have heard me earlier today making fun of the Love of My Life and his youngest progeny.  They set up a tent with two bedrooms opening out of a central entranceway.  We have blow-up mattresses!  We have a portable barbeque!  I have brought my BlackBerry to check emails!  Shy-Boy is playing games on Ju-Boy’s iPhone while Ju-Boy grills entrecote steaks and is making a salad.  No dirt encrusted chicken for the likes of us!

Gourmet roughing it

With all of this luxury, we are still roughing it.  We are the poor neighbors at this campground.  The family two tents away have brought a television and home cinema.  Another family has brought a generator and a huge chest freezer.  The teens a few meters away are bopping along to Middle Eastern disco on a huge sound system complete with strobe lights.  People are cooking spaghetti on electric hobs.  A little further away I can see a state-of-the-art plasma television, hooked up to a karaoke machine!  You wouldn’t want to go camping and miss out on who gets eliminated from Kochav Nolad (Israeli Idol).

One family shlepped out a huge television and spent the whole night screening their sons' Bar Mitzvah videos, complete with belly dancers and ulalations!

Huge chest freezer connected to its own generator -- are they camping out or moving in?

Teen camp with sound system and strobe lights -- they actually turned out to be the quietest group that sleepless night...

Okay, it’s getting dark and as we have neglected to bring a sound and light show with us, scribbling all this down is getting more and more difficult.  I suppose I could tap this all into my BlackBerry, but, hey, I’m roughing it!

One confession — tonight we’re going to be treated to the Perseids meteor shower, and Shy-Boy has brought his telescope.  There is definitely something to be said about smoothing out the rough edges.

Tent city the morning after

Shy-Boy made us smoked tuna sandwiches for breakfast!

Smoked Tuna

  • 1 can tuna packed in oil (not water!)
  • 1 paper towel
  • 1 match

Smoking the tuna will take about 10 minutes until the flames die down

  1. Open the can of tuna, but do not drain the oil.  Fold a paper towel into 4 and place on top of the can, pressing down into the oil.  Turn and do likewise with the other side, so that the entire paper towel is saturated in tuna oil.  Place the can on a flame-proof surface.  Strike the match and ignite the paper towel.  Stand back and watch.  Take pictures if this is the first time you are doing this and your friends won’t believe what you had for breakfast that morning. 
  2. Let the flames die down of their own accord.  This can take anywhere between 10 and 15 minutes depending on the oil in the can.  In the meantime, you can prepare a roll with cheese, scallions, whatever you like in your tuna sandwich.  No mayo is necessary.
  3. Once the flames have died down, the tuna will be nice and smokey.  There really is no need for draining now, all the oil has been burned away, leaving behind a wonderful barbequey flavor.  Enjoy!

Not exactly gourmet, but who needs gourmet when you're roughing it? Delicious!

About Miriyummy

All I want to do is live happily ever after.

Posted on 15 August 2010, in Breakfast, Family Life, Fish, Low Carb, Savory Nosh and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I don’t believe it! My son told me about this phenomenon not long ago – I’ve been intrigued by the idea, but unsure how to approach it. In the name of our whole family, thanks so much for your step by step instructions!

    Like

  2. What”s with the shadecloth overhead?! My idea of camping is more like yours…it has to fit in a backpack. Well, that covers tramping trips. Aussie camping is similar to Israeli sfyle.

    Like

  3. Oh, so THAT’S what the smoked tuna thing looks like! 🙂
    I actually blogged about it last year, but I’ve never seen it in action…

    Like

  4. you told me you went camping – this is pretty fancy stuff even without the plasma and Kareoke!

    Like

  5. oh mirj! i, too, have *never* (ever!) camped! we rented a cabin “up north” last week– no air conditioning, no dishwasher, lots of mosquitos– to me? that was roughing it! 🙂 how was the sandwich? jason would so be all over that! 🙂

    Like

    • Galit, roughing it is entirely subjective. Once when we were camped out in the Large Crater in the Negev, I was freaking out because I forgot to pack the can opener. My friend was freaking out because she had nowhere to plug in her curling iron.

      See?

      Tell Jason he has to give the tuna a shot, even if you’re not out rouging it, it’s good!

      Like

  6. Ok, I have been camping, and while it did not include anything electrical other than a flashlight, I can honestly say that it’s Not All That Bad as long as it’s Not All That Long. But I do like flooring.

    I have heard of Salmon on a Plank (soak plank in water, put salmon on plank on grill, turn off grill when plank catches fire), but never smoked tuna. I’m actually looking forward to trying this one.

    Like

  7. As usual, reading you is a “hanging out with a good friend” experience. I loved “the ripe old age of mumble mumble” — an age I know quite intimately, thank you.

    I knew my boys were “real Israelis” when they stopped eating in the house, and started living on stew from poike pots buried in the earth, and smoked tuna (prepared within broken slabs of roof tile to guard against the Neve Daniel winds).

    Since The Dearly Beloved spent too much time on bivouac in the army, a Motel 6 is the closest we will ever get to roughing it. So your adventures will be my vicarious thrill. Keep writing!

    Like

    • I LOVE those poykes, but don’t own one. If I did buy one I would probably set one of the living room couches alight just to have the experience of cooking in one. Wouldn’t they look gorgeous on the table one wintry, rainy Shabbat lunchtime?

      Perhaps we’ll meet one day over a poyke, or a cafe hafuch…

      Like

  8. LOL at the chest freezer! I too never thought I’d go camping but once I did it I loved it!
    BUT I do have to have electric (hairdryer, kettle etc)! In fact we’re going in October (must be mad camping in the UK in October)!

    Like

  1. Pingback: Haveil Havalim #281 — The Summer’s End Edition « Miriyummy

Tell me what you think