Chatting with Miriyummy: Mrs. S.

Meet Mrs. S.  I never have.  But in one of those “life is stranger than fiction” scenarios, Ju-Boy has.

Although I’ve been reading her blog for quite some time, Our Shiputzim, I’ve never actually met her in person.  But she did a little math, and a little detective work, and realized that Ju-Boy and her mom once worked together once upon a time.  You can read about it here:  Life Is Like A Box Of Chocolates.  Ju-Boy is up for a good challenge any day, Mrs. S.’s mom offered him one, and he lost.  Mwah hah hah hah hah!

I’d like to show you a picture of Mrs. S., but nowhere on her blog will you find a picture of her or any member of her family, and you won’t even have a clue to her name.  Above is a picture of the sky as seen from a hole cut into her roof when she was doing renovations and added another floor to her house.  It was those very renovations that got her started on her blogging adventure in the first place, so this hole is about the best representation I can show you of her.  I couldn’t pick her out of a police line-up if I tried.  She’s probably a Mossad agent… I tried to Google her and came up with the following image:

You know, if I didn’t have any facial features, or pants, I wouldn’t put any pictures of me up on the Internet either…

Introduce yourself.  Who are you, what are you, why are you?

My name is Mrs. S. (or at least that’s how I’m known in the Blogosphere). I’m a wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a freelancer, an American olah, and – of course – a blogger.

Where do you live, and why?

Our family has the incredible privilege of living in Israel. In fact, we’re about to celebrate our, um, aliyah bar mitzvah… (By the time I got around to posting this they have already celebrated their aliyah anniversary ~Miriyummy)

What is your family like?

My husband and I are the proud parents of a [CENSORED] number of Heblish-speaking kids. (For the uninitiated, I should explain that “Heblish” is an obscure yet utterly charming language spoken by the Israeli offspring of English-speaking parents…)

What is your relationship with food?  Do you like to cook?

I enjoy cooking and also reading cookbooks and food blogs (especially yours!).

Chocolate Swirl Blondies

These days, I generally leave the baking for my ready supply of slave labor, er, I mean, kids… Their repertoire includes quick and easy desserts, like Chocolate Swirl Blondies, and also complicated, full-day projects, like Chocolate Chip Surprise Cookies. (The latter is great for this awkward time of year, after day camp has ended but weeks before the first day of school…)

(You can find Mrs. S.’s collection of blogged recipes here. ~M)

What is your first food-related memory?

Chocolate Chip Surprise Cookies

As a child, I was a fairly picky eater with strong carnivorous tendencies. I’d eat meat, chicken, and even exotic things like lamb chops. But fruits, vegetables, grains, or milk products? Not so much. I didn’t even like pizza until I was about 7 or 8!

That all changed when my friend B. (probably another Mossad agent ~M) invited me to her sleepover birthday party. All the girls were thrilled, because B. had told us that we were going to be having pizza. (This was a Very. Big. Deal. The closest kosher pizza shop was about 45 minutes away.)

Although I, in stark contrast to everyone else, was far from excited about the pizza (to put it mildly), pride prevented me from admitting it.

And so – in a scene reminiscent of Dr. Seuss’s “Green Eggs & Ham” (“Would you, could you at a birthday party?”) – I reluctantly tasted the pizza, and the rest is history…

How would you describe yourself in the kitchen?  As a host/hostess?

As we’ve discussed elsewhere, being the granddaughter of a Holocaust survivor means that, like my mother, I’m completely incapable of making “just enough.” There always has to be tons of leftovers.

In addition, I’m a huge fan of lists. For instance, every Friday, I work off a master Erev Shabbat list, and I bought a new notebook for each of our kids’ bar/bat mitzvahs.

What is your favorite comfort food and why?

Chocolate. I think this is pretty much self-explanatory…

Is there any food you hate?  Why?

Even after all these years in Israel, I still can’t get myself to like olives or eggplant. {hangs head in shame} I know. I know. It’s highly unpatriotic of me.

But please don’t tell anyone. The Ministry of the Interior might revoke my Israeli citizenship…

What is your favorite Miriyummy post and why?

I love when you write about your family – your husband, your kids, and especially your parents z”l. When I read these posts, I feel as if I’ve known you forever and forget that I haven’t yet had the honor of meeting you in person…

Thanks, Miriyummy! I had a great time doing this interview!

About Miriyummy

All I want to do is live happily ever after.

Posted on 13 September 2011, in Brownies, Chatting with Miriyummy, Chocolate, Cookies, Family Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love your interview with the best Mossad agent ever!

    Those cookies and blondies look like desserts my kids would eat. I wish they would make them too – maybe if I stick the recipes under their noses when they have a day off before an upcoming hag.

    Regarding not liking olives or eggplants, it’s OK. Do you like grapes? chickpeas? pomegranates? They will probably let you stay in the country.

    Like

  2. Great. Juuuuust great. Now my cover is blown, and my superiors are NOT going to be happy… 😉

    Like

  3. Thank you for this great interview. I had never pictured a Mossad agent in a kitchen, now I can. Thanks ladies for the interview and the fun.

    Like

Tell me what you think

