Make It So!

Look at that guy, isn’t he divine?  I’ve been a Trekkie since the first grade or so, and out of all the captains at the helm of the USS Enterprise, this one is the yummiest!  I think it may have something to do with my aural fixation, I just love a guy with an English accent.  And the fact that he can take me where no man has gone before, well, that’s an added plus.

I remember rushing home from school, rushing through my homework, all so I could catch Star Trek on TV.  My brother and I would fight over who got to sit on the comfy chair and who had to perch on the piano bench.  I never could respect Captain Kirk, man-whore that he was.  Every show there was a different girl in his arms.  He didn’t discriminate, you have to hand him that.  He didn’t care if you were white, black, or even green.  And William Shatner’s kiss with Nichelle Nichols playing Lieutenant Uhura was the first example of an inter-racial kiss on United States television.  Even though the kiss was portrayed as having been forced by alien telekinesis, I thought it was great.  The Partridge Family had nothing on the crew of Star Trek.  I used to love watching Sulu do his pretend martial arts across the styrofoam rocks on whatever planet they were stuck on.  And yes, I know George Takai plays for the other team, but back then he made my grade-school heart go pit-a-pat.

It was in the early 90s that Star Trek:  The Next Generation hit Israeli television.  I was in love with the whole concept, with the special effects, with the holodeck, and I loved Captain Picard.  By then I was already on British Husband #1 and listening to Jean-Luc tell the crew to “make it so,” I could almost believe he was talking to me.  When he ordered his “tea, Earl Grey, hot,” I just wanted to make him a nice cuppa.  My kids used to think I was crazy, but what did they know, they followed the lives and loves of Ninja Turtles and Care Bears.

Over the years I’ve lost interest in what’s going on out there on the mission to find new life, new civilization, to go where no Miriyummy has gone before.  Does this mean I’ve grown up?  Nah!  I actually do know one guy that wears his Star Trek uniform to work.  And he doesn’t work on the USS Enterprise.  Or anywhere else in space.  It takes all kinds, but I’m going to be content to just catch the show while channel-surfing, go see the occasional movie (what number are we up to these days, I think I stopped counting after they saved the whales), and one day come up with a recipe for gagh, that Klingon delicacy best eaten live.  Wait, maybe I’ll put that one on hold for now, even if Worf and I used to share the same last name at one time…

Earl Grey Biscuits

I was baking these earlier this morning as the penultimate offering on a 15 course tasting menu Ju-Boy and I were putting together for Shavuot.  Of course, I had to do a little quality control and taste one, and thought, “You know, Jean-Luc would have loved these.”

So go ahead and bake these delicate little babies.  Make it so.

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup white granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • the contents of 6 bags of Earl Grey tea
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 cup butter or margarine (using marg makes these babies vegan)
  1. Place all the dry ingredients in your food processor with the steel knife and process in short bursts until the tea has been completely combined in with the white stuff.
  2. Add the vanilla and the butter/marg.  Pulse until you reach the consistency of cookie dough (duh!).
  3. Scrape out of the bowl, divide in half and roll each half in a sheet of plastic wrap so it looks like a log of cookie dough.
  4. Place both logs in the fridge to chill for 30 minutes.
  5. Preheat your oven to 170 degrees C (350 degrees F).
  6. Line two cookie sheets (I use my oven trays) with parchment paper.
  7. Carefully and evenly slice the cookie log into slices about 1/4 of an inch thick, and lay on the parchment paper.
  8. Bake for about 12-14 minutes.  Do not let them crisp up in the oven.  They should be brown on the edges and a little soft in the center.
  9. Let cool on the cookie sheets and then transfer to your favorite cookie jar.

Serve up at Sci Fi conventions.

 

About Miriyummy

All I want to do is live happily ever after.

Posted on 14 June 2011, in Cookies, Dessert, Family Life, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. In full agreement with every word!

  2. Why do I think you would have made a mean Alice B Toklas Brownie in your day? (This question is rhetorical. Do NOT give any details.) :-D

  3. You know . . . the cookies are nice, but that gagh looks really good.

Tell me what you think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 441 other followers

