A Boy Called Sous

It’s Friday morning and I’m puttering around in the kitchen starting to cook for Shabbat.  Ju-Boy is off talking to God, Chip is snoring away after a late night out.  Didi would love to be snuggled deep in bed after a late night out, but she’s off early for her National Service gig.  I’ve got the kitchen all to myself, Barry White is on the stereo (you all should know, Barry is excellent for cooking, while The Boss is the best music for cleaning), when I hear a noise on the stairs.  Shy-Boy, despite the fact that he went to bed late last night after a marathon of X-Boxing, shuffles into the kitchen, helps himself to a bowl a cereal and utters the magic words, “Can I help?”

“Sure,” I reply, “you can clean the house.”  Nope, he wants to help cook something.  “Okay, you can peel potatoes.”  Nope, he wants to have fun while helping to cook something.  What a weird kid, who doesn’t have fun peeling potatoes?  Okay, you can all put your hands down now.  “Okay, you can make deli roll.”  Nope, wait, oh yeah, cool!

Deli Roll

A paean to processed and convenience foods, this dish is a big hit, especially with the kids at the table.  So the next time you serve up your usual dinner party dish of roast duck topped with cherry sauce and the kids go “ick!” (as will a lot of adults, most probably), serve this dish as well and watch the kids (and a few adults) fight over the last piece. It’s also very easy to make, so easy my 12 year old sous chef can do it all on his own.

  • 1 600 gram box (1.3 pounds) of Turkish filas pastry (you can use puff pastry if you can’t find filas, but we prefer the filas, it puffs up less)
  • 2 big glops mustard (about 3 tablespoons)
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 18 slices roasted chicken breast (we use Tirat Zvi’s honey roasted)
  • 18 slices smoked beef  shoulder (again, we use Tirat Zvi’s brand)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • sesame seeds

Preheat the oven to 170 degrees C (350 degrees F).

Defrost the filas dough.

Cut the dough into three equal(ish) pieces).

Mix the mustard and honey together until well blended. Brush the mixture over the dough. Leave enough room at the ends and sides so the dough will stick together when rolled.

Lay the roasted chicken breast over the brushed dough. I usually find that it works best to do two rows of three pieces per roll.

Lay the darker beef shoulder over the lighter-colored chicken breast.

Beginning with the end closest to you, tightly roll the dough forward.

Tightly, I said roll the dough tightly! When you get to the end press the dough down to seal, and tuck the sides underneath themselves to seal.

Place the rolls on your baking tray that has been line with parchment paper. Brush the rolled dough with the beaten egg.

Sprinkle with sesame seeds.

Ready to go into the oven. Did you remember to preheat?

Place the rolls in the oven and let bake for about 45 minutes until beautifully browned.

After your father yells at you for 20 minutes to go upstairs and have a shower and get dressed for Shabbat, do that, and then come downstairs and take the deli rolls out of the oven to cool.

I’d love to show you a picture of what they look like cut up into spiraled pieces, and how pretty they are on the serving platter, but as usual, a lot of our food gets eaten on Shabbat, when we don’t take pictures of what we eat.  I think the kids find it more relaxing on Shabbat.  Usually, if I cook something during the week and the kids want to cut themselves a piece, the first question they ask is not “Can we have some?” but “Did you take a picture of this yet?”

Thank goodness for Google! Photo courtesy of idglatt.com.

About Miriyummy

All I want to do is live happily ever after.

Posted on 27 May 2011, in Family Life, Savory Nosh, Shabbat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Your post made me smile! My daughters (11-year-old twins) help a lot in the kitchen and this dish is one of their favorite things to make! They think it is super fancy, and it’s also super simple! Great photos.

    Like

  2. My kids love deli roll, and I have never tried it. You make it look easy! My husband doesn’t eat oil or fat (yes, it makes restaurants so much fun….) so I don’t make it. He is going away this weekend, so I think we are on! Thanks for the inspiration.

    Like

  3. My 12 year old son and I are chuckling at your shower comment – we couldn’t possibly relate to that one 🙂
    Shabat Shalom!

    Like

  4. We got that recipe from my daughter’s sister in law in South Africa…thought it was an original!!! guess we were wrong. I found that the carnivorous males of all ages love it!! we make it with puff pastry, I always have issues defrosting and not breaking filo!!but may try it one day. I love all pastroes as long as they are crisp and not soggy!

    Like

  5. LOL! Over the years, I’ve learned that “can I help?” most definitely does NOT mean any of the following:
    1) Can I please clean up my room and/or the playroom?
    2) Can I please watch my younger sibling(s)?
    3) Can I please wash dishes?
    4) Can I please fold laundry?
    🙂

    Like

    • At one point when Shy-Boy was much younger and so intent on helping so unhelpfully, we would let him polish the front door. He loved doing that. We had the cleanest front door in the neighborhood!

      Like

  6. Not bad for photo from a blackberry 🙂 I never either heard of filas dough. What makes it different than flaky/puff dough?

    Like

    • Filas dough is less flaky and less fattening than puff pastry. I much prefer it to puff pastry, although my dog mourns the lack of pastry crumbs on the floor.

      Like

  7. My kids love this thing. I love it too because it’s so easy. But it’s awfully unhealthy so we make it sparingly.

    And we also have to–ahem–coax the girls to get into the shower before Shabbat.

    Like

  8. Filo Pastry sheets have NO OIL/FAT. That’s one of the best parts of it.
    I usually brush it with a bit of oil first; in fact, I never saw a recipe that didn’t call for that.
    But yours seems to work fine without the oil…!!! Thanks for sharing.
    Linda

    Like

  9. Is there a difference between fila pastry and filo sheets? In the ingredients (in your fila pastry), is there anything besides flour and water? I’ve never seen anything here except the sheets, which by the way, are very delicate to work with but are so so so worth it! Thanks!

    Like

    • Filo sheets have no fat in them, filas pastry does. Filas rolls out to something slightly less puffy than puff pastry. I can by pre-rolled filas pastry in my supermarket.

      Like

Tell me what you think

