Please Rain!

It’s the first day of Chanuka and I am sitting in my family room with a Boston creme sufganiya and a huge cup of super-strong espresso with a splash of milk.ย  I am also sitting here in a flowing summer blouse, my favorite black summer skirt and a pair of Teva Naot sandals.ย  It’s the first day of Chanuka, it’s December 2nd, and we haven’t seen rain in over a month, let alone winter.

My daughter Sassy is buried under eight inches of snow in London and my cousin Rebecca just offered to trade houses with me, she’s in Sweden where the temps have just hit a high of -15 C!

We’ve prayed, we’ve fasted, we’ve promised to be good, we’ve even gotten together in spite of religious and national issues, and still it doesn’t rain.

The entire nation of Israel is depressed due to the weather.ย  Have you ever known beautiful, bright sunny days to do this to a person (let alone a whole country)?

Please rain!

About Miriyummy

All I want to do is live happily ever after.

Posted on 2 December 2010, in Chanuka, Israel, Non-food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Perfectly put, Mirj. This sunny weather really is getting depressing. Would be hard for anyone outside Israel to really understand how weird that is.

    Like

  2. Yeah, I was thinking the same thing when I saw someone on facebook talking about trying to get some gray instead of our current blue skies. We may be the only ones on Earth with this seemingly backward complaint!

    I like the snowflakes falling on your blog, though ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. nice snowflakes!
    but more importantly, where did you get the boston creme and would you recommend it (please don’t tell me you made it yourself!)

    Like

    • Nope, it came from my local boureka shop, they have dulce de leche, chocolate, vanilla creme patisserie and chocolate creme patisserie, and you have a choice of toppings: powdered sugar or chocolate glaze with sprinkle. What ever happened to plain old jelly sufganiyot?

      Like

      • thanks, but i need more details so i can get one please ๐Ÿ™‚ A name or an address please? (I’m in Raanana too)

        Like

        • It’s on the corner of Ahuza and Levi Eshkol. Lots of bakeries in Ra’anana are offering all sorts of yummy sufganiyot. At the Roladin in the Mashbir Square you are spoiled for choice!

          Like

        • thanks for the details – i’m trying to avoid roladin this year – very expensive and never can decide what to try…

          Like

  4. Amen!
    The rain has to come. Thanks for reminding me to continue to pray.

    Like

  5. I am not depressed!!!

    Yes, I know we need rain, but I could happily carry on with this gorgeous weather all year round.

    Actually, in a perfect world, I’d have rainy nights and sunny days, 27 degrees or so – not too hot, not too cold.

    Like

  6. I am not depressed!!!

    Yes, I know we need rain, but I could happily carry on with this gorgeous weather all year round.

    Actually, in a perfect world, I’d have rainy nights and sunny days, 27 degrees or so – not too hot, not too cold.

    I’ve had enough grey skies and rain in my 12 stint in the UK, not missing it one little bit

    Like

  7. I understand. An overcast day is a relief from the big expectations of a bright, sunny day. And a good rain washes everything – like a soul cleanse. Wishing you lovely showers with a little thunder and lightning for dramatic effect!

    Like

  8. A Prayer for Rain
    O God, the earth is thirsty for rain
    and we wait for you
    to refresh the land and all its creatures,
    the rivers and lakes, the crops and gardens.
    Send abundant rain, we pray,
    and teach us to be better stewards
    of all the blessings you provide,

    Like

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Please Rain! ยซ Miriyummy -- Topsy.com

Tell me what you think

